Day eleven – MmmBop poem…

Day eleven was to write a Bop poem and, in my usual fashion I have allowed it to hold me back as I struggled so much with it! Eventually I finished it, but it’s a bit clunky.

I have also had family visiting, so I have fallen a few days behind. Hopefully I can get back on track soon…
Bop reflection using refrain by Yevgeny Yevtushenko

I couldn’t get inspired to write a Bop,
at first I couldn’t find a good refrain.
The convoluted form just made things worse.
so round I went, in circles, once again.
If I’d just found a little inspiration,
it might have helped to spark my imagination.

Poetry is like a bird, it ignores all frontiers

Should poetry be grounded by such forms?
Must we balance iambs, make it rhyme,
pepper it with metaphors and such,
add alliteration, count the lines?
Rhyming schemes still make me yawn and twitch,
I don’t enjoy the structure they impose,
though some may find them handy to denote
the difference between poetry and prose.

Poetry is like a bird, it ignores all frontiers

The dilemma for a writer, then, it seems,
is whether to embrace the form or not.
Without set boundaries, can a poem stand
or does the art just simply go to pot?
My own beliefs just add to the confusion,
so I’ll leave you, reader, to draw your own conclusion.

Poetry is like a bird, it ignores all frontiers

Leave a Reply

