Day eight – I’ve finally caught up!!!!

Phew – with a following wind, and a little bit of sneakiness, I am finally on the same page as everyone else taking part!

The challenge for day eight is repetition. Hmm, not my cup of tea really (Simon Armitage’s Not the Furniture Game an exception) as it gets a bit forced after a while. As a reader, I also find myself skipping the repetitions and just reading the new bits, which I am sure affects my response to the piece – just telling it as I see it!Sorry, it’s not a cheery one!

 

Dark Heart
His heart was dark, like the cracks between floorboards
His heart was dark as a sealed room
His heart was dark, like the Marianas Trench
His heart was as dark as an empty womb

His heart was dark, as though filled with squid ink
His heart was dark, with no promise of dawn
His heart was dark as a crouching panther
His heart was dark, like the eyes of a newborn

His heart was dark, studded with scarab wings
His heart was dark, like an unexplored cave
His heart was dark, like a black hole in space
His heart was dark as a pauper’s grave

His heart was dark,
our love was dark,
his soul was darker.

Leave a Reply

