Day 26 – call and response

I have to be honest – I really dislike this kind of repeating poem and would never write one normally. The first year I did NaPoWriMo I seem to remember the sea shanty prompt really stopping me in my tracks for several days.

However, I was watching River Monsters on the TV tonight and we were joking about how, in previous series’, the anticipation is always ramped up about what could be lurking in the deep waters and preying on local animals and people, but inevitably it’s always a blooming catfish in the end!

Obviously things have been mixed up a bit this series, so this is my homage – with just a soupcon of artistic licence!

River Monsters

There’s a monster lurking here,
Could it be a catfish?
local people live in fear.
Could it be a catfish?
When a giant lies in wait
Could it be a catfish?
I must use myself as bait.
Could it be a catfish?
I still have that tingling feel
Could it be a catfish?
from a mad electric eel.

Could it be a catfish?

From Venezuela to Guyana,

Could it be a catfish?
far more likely it’s piranha.
Could it be a catfish?
I found paiche in dark Peru
Could it be a catfish?
(that’s arapaima or pirarucu).
Could it be a catfish?
A fish by any other name…
Could it be a catfish?
is still, to fishermen, fair game!
Could it be a catfish?
This week I have found my prey
Could it be a catfish?
among the sharks, out in the bay.
Could it be a catfish?
Who said this series is in a rut?
Could it be a catfish?
No – even catfish are found in the gut
of the giant, predatory halibut!

2 thoughts on “Day 26 – call and response

Leave a Reply

