Day 24 – mix highbrow and everyday

The challenge today was to choose some highbrow words and then mix them into a poem with everyday ones. I concentrated on a couple of words which led me to a home environment, and this is what came out:

 


Domicile


Palimpsest,
on my fridge-mounted
shopping list,
reminds me that I buy
bread, cheese and tea
with alarming regularity.
Who can deny the
unnameable assuagement
of a brew and a cheese butty?
Soothed,
I scrub/scrape sink soap scum
and, alliteratively,
wet wipe windows.
I pause
(caesura)
to anthropomorphise
my pets, plants and,
sometimes,
random household appliances.
I eschew the science
in favour of the aesthetics
of cooking,
though my reluctance to follow
a didactic narrative
can sometimes lead to
a flop.

Leave a Reply

