Day Sixteen – Terzanelle

I have managed to let myself slip behind, as usual, and I have to say that once again it’s a form that has me stumped. I was blown away (so to speak!) by the “Terzanelle in Thunderweather” example and it completely daunted me that I had to try and emulate it!
Forms are so hard to do, especially if you don’t want them to sound contrived. I have never really understood whether you just start, and hope inspiration kicks in and gives you a line repeat that works, or whether you have to keep adjusting it as you go along.

Well, I have done one but I leave it to you to tell me if it works, whether through skill or serendipity!!!

Torrential terzanelle
Water feeds my soul, it flows through my veins,
flooding my parched dreams, bathing me in hope.
When all else seems lost, still water remains.

Unfathomable, slippery as soap,
sunshine seeps into every crevice, light
flooding my parched dreams, bathing me in hope.

Suddenly my world sinks, baked and bleached white,
illuminating signs of dessication.
Sunshine seeps into every crevice. Light!

In parody of the situation,
light’s keen purpose rides on the ebbing tide,
illuminating signs of dessication.

Dust motes drift by, our haunted dreams inside,
bursting at the seams with thwarted intent.
Light’s keen purpose rides on the ebbing tide

Sucking away the flotsam, heaven-sent.
Water feeds my soul, it flows through my veins,
bursting at the seams with thwarted intent.
When all else seems lost, still water remains.

Leave a Reply

