Day 22 – a poem for a child

Day 22 sees us being asked to write something for children. I can’t tell you how tempted I am to cheat on this one, as I already have a few in my back pocket!
Once again, I will work in the spirit of the challenge and try something new.

Hmm, not sure about this one either as it seems to come from a strange and unexpected place, but it is what it is. I would like to say that I usually write happy, rhythmic things!! Maybe not so muc for a child as potentially by one.

I don’t believe in monsters, they’re just inside your head.
Ghosts don’t scare me either, as they’re already dead.
I don’t mind rats or spiders, things that creep and crawl,
Even being all alone – I don’t mind that at all.
Thunderstorms and fireworks never make me cry,
And I don’t care if my best friend tells me I should die.
Mum says she’s a bully and I should just ignore
The nasty things she says to me, and I am worth much more.
That’s easy for my mum to say, as she looks slim and great,
While I am fat and ugly, and I am only eight.
One day, when I grow up, I know what I will be –
The winner of Big Brother, a real celebrity.
When everything looks perfect, I will feel beautiful
And everyone will say that I am quite incredible.

Leave a Reply

