Day Eight – rework another poem

Okay so today is a re=working of someone else’s poem. I nearly baulked but then decided to choose one that I know very well – guess this can either inspire or stall you!
I based this on ‘Breakfast’ by Jacques Prevert, which has been one of my favourite poems for a very long time – since I first read it when I was 15, in fact.

Dawn

She rose,
silently,
from the sheets,
slipped into
a silk gown,
grey as the dawn.
She crossed
to the window,
stared out
across the street,
sighed softly.
Turning,
she padded back,
paused
by the bed.
I heard
her breath,
sensed
hesitation.
The door
closed,
gently behind her,
bare feet
padded
downstairs.
And I,
the whole time,
pretended
to sleep.

Leave a Reply

