April 5th

Cinquains! Whilst I admire people like Elizabeth Bishop (oh, how I admire her work!) who seem at ease with poetic forms, sadly they don’t sit comfortably with me. Very often I feel the resultant poem feel rather contrived. Also it feels a bit like maths homework, and I never much cared for that either! Nonetheless I took on the challenge as came up with two. Copped out on titles and punctuation this time! Think they are correct, form-wise, but I can live with them either way:

Sometimes
when life is hard
I wonder, What’s the point?
But then I see your loving smile
and know

In dreams
I hold you near,
find comfort in your touch,
whisper sweet nothings in your ear
once more

Leave a Reply

